The parliamentary constituency of St Helens North was created in 1983. It primarily replaced parts of the St Helens and Newton constituencies. St Helens North is one of two constituencies covering the Metropolitan Borough, the other being St Helens South and Whiston.

The town of St Helens is midway between Liverpool and Manchester, at the heart of the North West. The M6, M62 and West Coast Main Line run through the constituency and have helped to attract new industries, businesses and investment.

St Helens North has a reputation as an urban and industrial area. However, there are large rural areas in the constituency and St Helens North has an important farming community.

Originally made up of 4 small townships, St Helens grew rapidly during the industrial revolution. The main industries during that period were coal, glass and chemical. The last pit Parkside closed in 1993, but the glass industry has survived with the world famous Pilkington Group still based in the town.

The constituency has long been a Labour stronghold. Before Conor McGinn was elected in May 2015, the constituency was represented for 17 years by Dave Watts and prior to that John Evans from 1983 to 1997.

The constituency has a proud sporting heritage and is home to St Helens RLFC, one of the most successful Super League sides, and the renowned Haydock Park Racecourse. National power boat racing events also take place at Carr Mill.

St Helens North is made up of the following wards:

  •    Blackbrook
  •    Haydock
  •    Parr
  •    Windle
  •    Newton
  •    Earlestown
  •    Rainford
  •    Moss Bank
  •    Billinge and Seneley Green